Other Buzz: My Wishlist 2010

Tis the season for new games!  So here’s my Top 11 wishlist for the year :

  1. Cosmic Encounter – For the past couple of years, there has been one game that I have been absolutely desperate to get.  Two years ago, it was Galaxy Trucker.  Last year, it was Kingsburg.  This year, it’s Cosmic Encounter.  I love the game play, I love the variability, I love the bits, I love the interaction, and it’s been on my list since before I even knew anything about the hobby.  Now that I’ve moved away from friends that have their own copies, I’m ready for my own.
  2. Alien Frontiers – It’s been on my radar ever since I first heard about it (way too late to get in on the first run).  The second run is taking pre-orders now, I may just have to get in on that.
  3. Formula D – I played this at a convention a year or so ago and had a great time.  It’s chaotic dice rolling car racing fun and I think it would be a hit whenever I bring it out.
  4. Kamisado – I’ve been playing this game a lot on yucata.de, and have been having a great time.  It’s played on a colored chess board, and involves getting your pieces all the way to the other side.  Great abstract game that is a definite want for me.
  5. 7 Wonders – It seems like this game would be a hit for me.  Card playing, civ building, great scalability, beautiful art.  It’s on the list.
  6. Steam – Age of Steam has always intimidated me, but I find Steam to be a lot more of a friendly experience.  I’ve played once and had a good time, and I think it’s a fairly easy game to learn.
  7. Summoner Wars – The two-player card game about fantasy battles.  I have a feeling this one is currently sitting under the tree from my Dice Tower Secret Santa, but I’m not sure.
  8. Terra Prime – This looks like an interesting and fun space exploration/pick up and deliver game.  I’m definitely interested.
  9. Catacombs – A dexterity based dungeon crawl?  Count me in!
  10. Galaxy Trucker: The BIG Expansion – Even more craziest for one of my favorite games.
  11. Dominion Expansions – I need to expand my Dominion set, so I need Intrigue, Seaside, Alchemy, and Prosperity.  They’re all included in one item because they’re all the same game.

And there you have it.  Thanks for reading, and insert clever tagline here!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

