Other Buzz: Looking Ahead to 2012

Since this blog has always been about the buzz, it seems only natural that I should look ahead to what’s coming in 2012.  Here’s a few items that are of interest to me right now:

  1. Galaxy Trucker: Another Big Expansion – This expansion was originally slated for release at Spiel 2011.  However, for some reason, it missed the show and still has not been released.  I haven’t gotten the first expansion yet but I’m still dying to know how everything will work together.
  2. Merchant of Venus – One of the big stories of 2011 was the almost simultaneous announcement by Stronghold and Fantasy Flight that they were both planning to release a reprint of the classic Merchant of Venus in 2012.  Apparently, Stronghold made a deal with the designer, and Fantasy Flight made a deal with Hasbro, owners of the original publisher Avalon Hill.  Both are still saying they’re going through with it, though Fantasy Flight’s version seems like it is coming first.  I’d like to see the game to see what all the fuss is about, but I’m kind of sorry all this confusion is going to mar its release.  However, it’s a fascinating story, and I’ll be keeping track of it.
  3. Fantasy Flight’s Reprint Machine – Speaking of Fantasy Flight, they seem to be in full reprint mode lately.  Wiz-War, Fortress America, Rex (the reprint of Dune), Merchant of Venus, and even a second edition of Descent are already on the slate for 2012, and they’re just getting started.  I’m looking forward to seeing what else they come out with.
  4. Star Wars – This is not a Fantasy Flight lovefest, but I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the upcoming games coming from their Star Wars license.  Specifically, X-Wing and an LCG have been announced.  I’m looking forward to seeing what these look like in their released form.  The LCG particularly interests me, especially after FF’s success with the Lord of the Rings LCG.
  5. Race for the Galaxy: Alien Artifacts – Thomas Lehmann’s Race for the Galaxy was basically a reworking of his original design for a Puerto Rico card game (later taken over by Andreas Seyfarth).  RFTG has spun off into its own world, with three expansions already released.  Alien Artifacts is purportedly a reboot of the series, going back to the beginning and not using any previous expansion. RFTG is a lot of fun, so I’m interested to see this new direction.
  6. 7 Wonders: Cities – 7 Wonders has quickly become a favorite.  I got my own copy for my birthday, and am looking forward to playing more.  I got an opportunity to play the Leaders expansion during the year, and thoroughly enjoyed.  It really added an extra layer to the game, giving you more of a strategy goal before even starting.  Cities will apparently give us team rules and the city dregs card type, as well as two new wonders.  Definitely on my watch list.
  7. 1989: Dawn of Freedom – This is a thematic follow-up to Twilight Struggle.  TS designer Jason Matthews (with new partner Ted Torgerson) and GMT Games are putting out this game about the end of the Cold War, with one player as the Communists and the other as the Democrats.  One is struggling to hold on to a crumbling empire, the other is struggling to escape.  I haven’t played any of Matthews’ games, but I am very interested to see what this one is like.
  8. Briefcase – This deck-builder set in the world of business is coming out from Artipia Games.  I don’t know a whole lot about it, but I know that Artipia is going to be running a fundraising campaign on IndieGoGo.com in January.  I’m interested to see how running something on IndieGoGo works as opposed to Kickstarter.
  9. Chicken Caesar – I’m interested in this one more for the theme than anything else.  It’s a political game set in ancient Rome, but rather than controlling stodgy old senators, it’s all about chickens.  I’ve been watching this one for over a year, and their Kickstarter campaign is coming in February.
  10. Midnight Men – Superheroes seem to be all the rage these days, and an upcoming game in the genre is Midnight Men.  It’s a deck-building game that’s currently in development for Filosofia/Z-Man.  I don’t know what stage the production is at, but I’m keeping my eyes open.
  11. iOS Games – I’ve never really been interested in diving into all the digital games.  But I just got an iPad for Christmas.  So I am now quite interested in seeing what the iOS has to offer.  And you may just hear about it on this blog, so stay tuned.

There’s my list.  What are you looking forward to in 2012?

Thanks for reading!

One comment

Leave a Reply

