The State of the Blog: January 2014

If you’re a regualr reader, you may have noticed that I was kind of quiet for most of December.  I typically take a couple of weeks off around Christmas, but this year it was something else.  Right around Thanksgiving, I experienced a little bit of burn out.  Since the beginning of Boards and Bees, I’ve been mostly focusing on providing previews of upcoming games.  As Essen drew closer, I downloaded a ton of rulebooks of games I had an interest in, intending to cover them for the blog.  Unfortunately, a lot of these games were ones I just had a fleeting interest in.  I was working on a post for one game (I won’t say which one), and I just hit a wall.  I didn’t care.  I looked at the other rulebooks I had, and I didn’t care enough about any of them to devote the time to putting together a post.  And so I started procrastinating.

A couple of weeks later, I started thinking that I needed to rethink this blog.  I’ve been working on it for over three years now, it’s about time for an overhaul.  So, I’m putting together this state of the blog post to look at some different things I want to try in the next year.

  • Typically, at this time of year, I put together a list of games I’m interested in that are coming in the next year.  However, in looking at the 20 most anticipated games Geeklist at BGG, I’m finding that there aren’t a whole lot that I’m really excited about.  There’s a lot of expansions on the list, as well as a lot of completed Kickstarter campaigns that should be out by then, as well as some other original titles (SeaFall and Dead of Winter from Plaid Hat being top of my list).  And that kind of led to my decision that I just need to pull back a little from doing so many previews.  I’m not saying I won’t do them, and I may even do more of them than anything else.  I’m just saying I need to stop devoting the time to doing previews for games I have only a fleeting interest in.
  • That said, I want to start doing more reviews.  To this point, I’ve only done the occasional review, but I’d really like to start doing more.  I’m going to set a goal right now that I want to do 50 reviews this year.  That’s one per week, with a couple of weeks off.  I’ll mostly be doing reviews of older, favorite games, but I will probably also be doing reviews of new games.  I’d like to experiment with some different review styles, so we’ll see how that works.
  • The Eleven will continue.  I really enjoyed putting together those lists last year, and I’m looking forward to Season Two.  I’ve already got some ideas in the works.
  • I’m toying with the idea of doing a Game of the Month type of thing.  I’ll choose a game, and commit to playing it sometime during the month, then will post my experiences and the next month’s game at the end of the month.  If I do this, I would want to have participation from readers – people who will also play the game and provide feedback about their experiences to contribute to the post.  We’ll see if that works out.
  • I may try to do some session reports.  If I do, I’m going to try to do them in a different manner than your typical “I did this, then he did that” style.  Maybe more like sports reporting.

And of course, there may be other things that happen as the year progresses.  I’m excited about it, and hope you enjoy what’s coming.  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

